Beaded Wrap Bracelet Video Tutorial

This is the single wrap bracelet I made while filming the wrap bracelet tutorial.

It has such a different look to it than the one I made this past weekend.

It is amazing the different look and style you can create with the same basic pattern just by changing length of the bracelet and the type and size of the bead!

Here is my attempt at a little video production for you.   Warning:  Video is 15 minutes long – Yikes –  I feel like I over explain things.    Grab a little cuppa’ something warm and cozy before you watch so you don’t get antsy.

Post production notes: I did go ahead and put a tiny dab of GS Hypo Cement on the nymo thread knots on either side of the bracelet – but just on the nymo.  Glues don’t stick for long on the linen thread because of the wax.

I hope this video helps you make your own beaded wrap bracelets!  I’d like to make more videos if you feel it is helpful.

Please share some pictures of your beaded wrap bracelet creations with me by linking back to this tutorial on your blog or website. I would love to feature some of your designs in a future post!  Leave a comment at the top of this post with questions or just to say “Hi”.

Tracy

55 responses to “Beaded Wrap Bracelet Video Tutorial

  1. Another idea for buttons is the pandora style beads. They make really cool closures. I found some owls that I am in love with!

  2. Hi, what size leather cord do you recommend? 1.5mm or 2mm? thanks so much!!!

  3. Hi I love your blog. I can’t find the video for the Chan Luu inspired bracelet.

  4. Hi Tracy, Thanks for sharing. Very easy to follow instructions. Detail is a good thing when you are teaching a craft.

  5. Can you do a video of the wrap bracelet your wearing?

    • Hi Patricia.

      I think the one you are referring to is just a shorter version of the one I make in the video. I am also wearing a chain bracelet that does not wrap. Hope that helps.
      Tracy

  6. Thank you for this tutorial! I made mine using 4mm Toho seed beads and leather cord. I’m really happy with the way it turned out and am already working on a second …

  7. colleen mckeage

    this was so helpful. thanks. I’m trying to find the right cotton cord to make a wrap bracelet. I purchased one on vacation and love it so thought I would try to make one but having trouble finding the right cotton cord, Joann’s didn’t have the right size. Any help would be great. Also what size thread should I use.

    • Hi Colleen. The waxed Irish linen I buy online. Tons of resources now… I buy from Royalwood in bulk – but google it and you will have lots of choices. Ornamentea is a favorite store and they carry it now. You could use waxed cotton cord – but it is not the same texture. You can buy that many places as well. Again google it. FireMountain Gems comes to mind. I use a 4 or 7 ply waxed linen or a 1mm or 1.5 mm cotton cord. Hope this helps.

  8. This tutorial was fabulous! It was so helpful and I love my bracelet!

  9. Great video! I loved how much detail you went into, I really needed it! Made this with some vintage (circa 1940) beads that my mother-in-law gave me. I made it with leather, which was more difficult to work with. I had been waiting forever to use these beads in a project, and one finally came! Thanks so much!
    Traci

  10. Thank you for the video. I made this the very first try.
    I wonder if you can show me how to make multiple rows of this version like a cuff , instead of a wrap.
    I am a beginner, so my imagination is very limited.
    Thanks you in advance

  11. Thanks so much for the fabulous tutorial!
    I had a play yesterday, and made a couple of bracelets following your instructions…you can see them here on my blog.
    Helen x

  12. AWESOME! thanks for sharing the TUTORIAL i wondered hmmm how to make those beautiful bracelets. thanks so much for your Great Blog 🙂 xo Ari

  13. Pingback: The Design Lush » These Things Are Pretty

  14. Thanks so much for that tutorial. That was awesome and very informative!

  15. Hi Julie. You can use whatever cording you would like. There is faux leather cording, waxed cotton cord, hemp is a little rougher, I am sure there are more. You need to have a cording that is at least a few mm’s thick. I prefer the waxed linen because it is so friendly to work with. It holds up over time, is pliable and you can tie really great knots that stay put with it.

  16. Hello,
    I am just checking if I could use a cheaper replacement for waxed irish linen or leather that kinda looks the same. Julie

  17. Thanks for video. I’ve never used Irish Linen, so it was a good learning experience. Needless to say, I raided my stash and made several out of different materials. The image at the link shows one I made with leather and 6mm silver beads. These little beads had been tucked away so long (someone gave them to me, not really my taste) I was clueless as to the current value of the dinky, little beads. Looks cool, though. Kinda chic biker.

  18. thanks so much!!

  19. Any luck in coming up w/ recommended length sizes?

    • Hi Cathy.
      I have a 6″ wrist and I like to wear my wrap bracelets at about 6.75 – 7″ per wrap. I tested a bracelet using the minimum amount of wasted material but yet still have enough to comfortable tie knots with at the end, etc. Here is what I recommend based on my test. The length of the clasp, with a small button is only about 1/2″ of the total length – No matter how many wraps around the wrist. Hope this helps!

      7″ bracelet ( 1 wrap) = 12″ material (meaning 1 piece linen is cut at 12″ one piece is cut at 24″ and folded over to 12″ length).
      14″ bracelet (2 wrap) = 24″ material
      21″ bracelet (3 wrap) = 36″ material
      28″ bracelet (4 wrap) = 48″ material

  20. Good information. I have recently started making wraps and getting them on etsy. Let me know what you think.

    Visit DaisyBead

  21. Tracy,

    Love the Chan Luu Bracelets..own 2 myself and recently saw a Ron Herman that I want I am going to atempt it myself ..having a hard time finding any of the great button closures, any suggestions?
    Thanks Gina

    • Hi Gina. Really cool jewelry quality buttons can be challenging. There are some Thai silver buttons, some Etsy artisans make buttons in different types of PMC, silver/bronze, copper, etc. that are pretty cool. Just search on silver buttons in handmade. I go to my local fabric stores that have good button selections from Italy, France, etc and find some cool metal buttons. Or you can go to large online button stores like ascuteasabutton.com and search silver or bronze buttons. Designers like Chan Luu have their own buttons manufactured in high quantity. Good luck.

  22. Thanks!!! I’m wondering if you have recommended lengths based on the number of times the bracelet will wrap around the wrist. In other words, if I want to make a 1 wrap for a 6″ wrist, what is the recommended length? How about a 2 wrap, 3 wrap, 4 wrap, 5 wrap? How many inches in beads vs length of closure space would be most helpful! Thanks!

    Cheers!

    • Hi Cathy. I don’t have a chart so to speak. Let me figure that out and get back to you….. Good suggestion. You sort of just keep multiplying the size by even lengths and then add on about an inch for clasp length. But I will put it in a friendly format.

  23. Tracy,

    I am having trouble finding the right type and size of thread to use so it does not break but can still go through the beads x2. Can you advise what kind of thread and the you use? Are some better than others? You do not say in your video.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Grace. I mention “Nymo” thread in my video. The main beading threads are Nymo, C-Lon, and ONE-G. Any of them would work. I used a size D in the Nymo thread. Hope that helps. I will put some notes at the end of the post with the video clarifying the size. Thanks!

  24. Hi Tracy,

    I love this blog, you are wonderful:) How many mm’s are the silver and gold Czech crystals that you used on your Waxed Irish Linen Wrap Bracelet with silver and gold Czech crystals? Thanks soo much!

  25. I had bought a bracelet from a jewelry party about a year ago and it broke. I am a little crafty and thought I could make one. After a google search I came across your youtube video and I am hooked. Your video was great. I have made a couple bracelets and am now wanting to know where you get your waxed irish linen. I have been using supplies bought at Michaels and wanting to get some “good” stuff as I pursue this new hobby. You have inspired me with your beautiful blog. …… Christina

    • Thanks Christina! I buy most of my waxed linen at Royalwood Ltd. Their website is not sexy but I think they carry the best selection of colors and plys. You can usually find some people on Etsy selling smaller quantities if you don’t want to buy large spools of each.

  26. great video! first attempt and i’m looking forward to it! is there any measuring advice? i want to make a double wrap like the gold and silver one in the picture and i’m not sure how long it should be. i also have fatter wrists then normal so i cant really go off of your measurements. thanks!! 🙂

    • Hi Taryn. If your wrist is bigger than a 7 inch bracelet, figure out by how much and then add on x4 for each of the material. So if you are 8 inches then add on an additional 4 inches of materials. I would say, err on the side of having more than you think you need because if you run short of materials toward the end of the bracelet, there is no way to recover. Hope that helps…. Tracy

  27. Tracey,
    Thank you for the video tutorial. I pulled out some supplies this evening and made a triple wrap bracelet. I love it!!!! Never thought I could do something like this. I used a thin waxed jute cord from my stash. Doubled it up like the tute and it worked well.
    Thank you again.

  28. Pingback: Beaded Leather Wrap Bracelet | i like ewoks

  29. Hi Tracey,
    Thanks for the tute, very helpful and well explained.

    Lizzie 🙂

  30. This looks like a great project & I guess I’ll experiment on my own first before trying to teach a few teenagers 🙂 Thanks for sharing & I got your link from my friend Rae.

  31. Hey Tracy! Awesome bracelets. Rae sent me your blog!

  32. Hi Tracy

    Absolutely loved your video tutorial and I don’t think it was very lengthy at all!! I found it extremely informative and you explained things very well. I ordered some waxed Irish linen yesterday and can’t wait for it to arrive so I can start playing. I look forward to seeing more of your video tutorials (hopefully).

    Nicola

  33. I really appreciate your video. I’ve had trouble with leather, but the waxed Irish linen is something I’ll try next. I do love video tutorials and search for them for beading and knitting techniques. This is a great one – thanks.

    Alice

  34. Thanks Barb! I’d love to see pics of what you’ve made.

  35. thanks for sharing! love to see others’ techniques and tips. i’ll have to take a pic of the bracelets i’ve made. i’ve only tested out the use of leather cording. going back through the beads twice makes a huge difference and is the only way to go! i haven’t started with the loop and ended with the button yet – looks really nice that way, especially with the frayed linen! so far, my method begins with the cord through the shank, knotted, then sew your beads, and end making the loops – so you can alter the length – e.g., tighter or loose fit. thanks again! you are a great teacher!

Leave a Reply

