Happy Mother’s Day!

My Talented & Creative Mom

I wanted to take a  few moments to honor my Mom today.  She is most definitely the source of my creative energy and I’m so thankful for her influence.  Words cannot really express my gratitude for all she has done for me over the years. Mom has so many talents I’d like to share with you.

She’s an amazing seamstress.   From clothing and costumes to curtains and bedspreads it seemed like there wasn’t anything she couldn’t sew.  She would even make her own patterns.   Being short, I could always count on Mom to do my alterations.   

She’s a wonderful cook.  There were always delicious home cooked meals, many of them picked fresh from the large garden she and my Dad cultivated together. 

She’s a great gardener.  To this day, my Mom maintains a big yard, vegetable garden and flower gardens that look just beautiful.

She’s a talented artist.  Mom was an art teacher for almost 30 years.  There were countless art projects in almost every medium imaginable going at any given time at the kitchen table or in the basement if it involved something messy like clay and a potter’s wheel.  

Here are just a few examples of her work.  I wish I had immediate access to more pictures to share.

 Mom just recently completed this sculpture of my three year old daughter Brinn using photographs I sent her. Unfortunately,  we live far away from from my parents and there was no possibility for Brinn to be a live model.  (Not that she could sit still long enough to be helpful anyway)!

I love this original water color Mom painted for my wedding program (13 years ago) featuring irises and peonies from her garden.

Aside from all her creative talents,  she’s simply the best Mom and Grandmother anyone could hope for. 



Happy Mothers Day!

2 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. She seems like such a great gal … you’re lucky to have such a good role model!

  2. Aw, Tracy your Mom sounds like the best! And WOW is she ever super talented! Her sculpture of your daughter is really incredible. I absolutely LOVE her painted flowers for your wedding invitation, talk about a true original. What a sweet tribute to a wonderful lady!
    Happy Mother’s Day to you, Tracy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

