Beachy Escape

It’s been a bit of a challenging week and I am quite glad it is Friday!

To escape my stress of the week, I decided to pull out some waxed Irish linen and make a beachy piece.  Something I could envision wearing on a tropical island far, far away.  I strung and knotted some summery wood beads, white and turquosie shell, clear seaglass beads and rustic silver heishi to make what I thought was going to be a bracelet. It had a mind of it’s own and turned out to be a long over the head necklace!

I have been anxious to use some of the carved jade and bone focals I picked up at an Intergem show a few weeks ago.  The one I chose for above really added the little extra something this necklace needed.   I am going to have fun using the rest of these!

Does making jewelry ever help you escape your stress? I think that is one of the best things about doing something you love or having a hobby you are passionate about. For me, it is a healthy escape as much as a source of creative expression.

Have a great weekend!  My inlaws are coming from California to visit for a week and they arrive this afternoon.  I’m looking forward to spending time with family.

 

5 responses to “Beachy Escape

  1. very nice but you could also wear this as a belly bracelet with bathing suits when you go to the beach, or wrap it around your ankle a couple times with a nice sundress. that’s how I would use this piece of work, I have found that the Irish wraps are very functional and can be worn in many way’s

  2. Tracy, what a beautiful, summery necklace! I’m glad it turned in to a long necklace – those are my absolute favorite!
    You’ve got house guests again!! I don’t know how you do it all!
    I agree, beading is a great stress relief, but unfortunately I barely have time for it lately. 😦 The good thing is, I can start a project and put it down and it will still be there waiting for me.

  3. It sure helps mine!

    Hey, could you use some donuts? I have some gemstone ones that I won’t be using — let me know!

  4. Tracy, I really like your Beachy necklace. It’s “breezy” with the beads spaced out on the linen. Lately, every time I start out to make a bracelet, it becomes a necklace. Good thing? I don’t know for sure. I would strongly agree that making jewelry is a great way to leave your stressful thoughts behind. Put on soothing or stimulating music and you have a personal escape!

Leave a Reply

