Bracelet Link Love

Whewww!   I’ve caught up and recovered from having house guests and various small home improvement projects going on at my house for the last few weeks.  I finally had a chance to get down in my studio long enough to make a bracelet.  I figured I better do it while I have a chance because school gets out this Friday and we oficially shift into CRAZY SUMMER KID MODE at my house.

Today was one of those days when I sat down at my bead table with no plan.  No idea of what I  wanted to make.   I pulled out my box of shell and mother of pearl beads.  It’s full of bright colors but my eye went to my silvery black mother of pearl open circles.  I wanted to use the circles in a different way so I did not string them through the holes, I attached them with jump rings.  Then, I pulled out my box of links.

I like links.  I have quite a few of them.   They are great for focals on necklaces as well as on bracelets.  The links can be a bit plain on their own so I pulled out some 22 gauge wire and wrapped a blobular (is that a word?) silver shaped link with some white shell beads and silver rounds to jazz it up a bit.  Here is what it became:

It’s  fairly contemporary – the circle spins around in the center – which is pretty fun.  It’s crisp and light and closes with a magnetic clasp – my favorite closure for bracelets.

I’ve decided I am going to have some fun with some of the links I have.  I am going to apply some different patinas and color to them to spice them up.  I will share several easy ways of doing that in one of my next posts.  Here are some of the links I will be playing with.

Have a great week.

6 responses to “Bracelet Link Love

  1. Love that modern look!

  2. Tracy, nice to see you had some time to enjoy and create a nice bracelet (before school lets out!!). I know things will be changing dramatically in this household as well! Your modern bracelet is really pretty. I have link-love too! 🙂

    • Hi Cindy. Yes – I thought of you when I wrote that actually. Are your kids out of school already? Our school year ends so late.

      Enjoy this beautiful weather!

      Tracy

  3. Tracy, I’m so impressed with the way you used the open pearl circles! I have them in several colors, but love the black MOP, awesome with the silver blobular, that should be a word, it’s so descriptive. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

