Working on Videos

I can’t believe summer is almost over and the kids go back to school on Tuesday. Gosh – they just finished school on June 17th!  Blink!

I took so many pictures this summer and I always struggle with the aftermath of taking all of those pictures and getting them off the memory cards and organized in a way that is fun to go back and look at again and again.

Macro shot I took of a New Mexican thistle.

It has become a tradition for me to produce an iMovie after each vacation we take.  I’m behind in that task, to say the least.  Yesterday I decided I need to hunker down and get my summer  ’11 photos and movies completed.   The kids love to watch these over and over and my husband takes them on his iPad when he travels.  I’m hoping my hard work of bringing these photos “to life” with movement and carefully chosen music tracks will help create lasting family memories!

If you are curious how iMovie works (with photos) take a look.   Most people think of using it for video and I do, but I love it for photos as well.  A few of these pics you may have seen in my post right after the trip, but there are lots of new ones if you want to see more eye candy from Taos and Santa Fe.

One of these days I am going to create a movie with jewelry photos.  If you don’t have a Mac, there are tons of easy photo slideshow programs (Google it) that help bring jewelry to life and could make you look like a real marketing pro!  It could also help bring some search engine traffic to your store or blog from YouTube…

Let me know what you think.  These movies are a labor of love!

7 responses to “Working on Videos

  1. Narra Tsiagkouris

    Hi Tracy:
    I just happened upon your blog via Pinterest and now I am a fan. Thank you for sharing your jewelery and photography talents with us. It is a gift when an artist is willing to share their knowledge freely.
    I love New Mexico, I have lived here most of my life. I moved away for 10 or so years, but my heart was here, so back I came. Arroyo Seco is one of my top places, I am so glad that you enjoyed it. The light and sky are truly amazing. Your kids are beautiful, you must be very proud. The pool at EMS looks amazing. Thanks for sharing.

    Narra Tsiagkouris

    • Hi Narra.

      My pleasure & Thanks! I am glad you found my blog and commented. I am envious you get to live in NM. I really loved it. It has the most amazing feeling to it. If there was another place I could live in this country – that area would be one of my top choices and I have lived in several regions of the United States. – Tracy

  2. this is so awesome! thanks for sharing and I just got a MacBook. Loved all the colorful shots. I have slide shows running on my website but this is a great idea, too.

  3. Thanks for sharing about IMovie. I have a mac and have Imovie but had no idea I could use still photos with it!! DUH! I am going to try it out.

    • You are welcome Heather!

      Yep – I thought that would surprise a few people. It can do more than just a simple slideshow in iPhoto – although I am sure I am not using it to it’s fullest. I have to start to incorporate video footage and stills together. I was going to do that with this one – but ran out of time and patience to pick through the video footage…

      Thanks for tuning in! Tracy

  4. Just watched your video, terrific job and preserves your beautiful memories!! Inspires me to learn more about my Mac! We have skied at Taos, so it was especially interesting to see the runs without snow! Thanks for a wonderful view of your trip!

    • Thanks Sharon!

      You can make an appt. at an Apple store and take a quick class. I learned mostly from poking around myself – but I have sat through a few helpful sessions. The Mac has tons of great software programs that you can create with!

      : ) Tracy

Leave a Reply

